Application Time

So for the past week or two I have been filling out college application after application.  I wrote an essay, and rewrote it, and rewrote it, and rewrote it yet again; then I edited it and wrote it with the new revisions made.  Then I started on my personal statement, and the rewriting process repeats.  Several days were spent filling out background information and entering my transcripts, scores, and activities.  The other day, I met with someone who went over my applications with me to make sure everything was filled out and correct.

In only a few days time I will be completely done with the application process and awaiting for acceptance (hopefully no rejection) letters from those few chosen schools.  Thanks to diligent researching and numerous visits, I narrowed my list from 7 to 3 schools to apply to.  As it turns out, some of the schools I really liked, I didn’t end up liking as much once I got to campus.  Its a good thing I realized it sooner than later so I didn’t have to end up filling out an additional four applications.

The application process is scary and pretty weighty until its over.  However, its a whole lot easier if you get someone to help you with it.  Find a good writer or ask a favorite English teacher to read over your essay for errors or possible revisions.  Ask your school counselor or someone you trust (other than your bff) to go over the applications with you and help fill them out.  Others are willing to help you so you don’t have to handle all of the stress yourself.  Now sit down with a cup of coffee or diet coke (whichever you prefer) and start the trudge-work because believe me, you will feel so much better once its over.  That and there is usually a December 1st deadline that you don’t want to miss.

Leave a Reply

