2013 October Favorites

So although October isn’t officially over yet, I decided to go ahead and write this post.  Basically I just think through my entire month and pick out the things that I have been turning to repeatedly or things I was introduced to that I now love.  Of course I will have to say not everything on these types of lists are beauty products.  There is also usually some sort of pop culture plus a few extras and food.  So first things first:

Beauty

spray maybelline-full-soft-mascara NYX-Round_lipstick essiemm

In order of appearance: top left- Suave kids detangling spray in the strawberry scent.  I am slightly obsessed with this stuff because it makes my hair so soft and not frizzy since I don’t use conditioner when I wash my hair.

Top right- Maybelline Full n Soft mascara.  This has been great for everyday wear because I tend to go light and natural on a day-to-day basis.

Bottom left- NYX round case lipstick in perfect.  I don’t think this picture does this justice.  It says online that it is a soft, light brown with red undertones and it sort of is but actually ends up looking really natural.  I also just think its the most perfect color for fall.

Bottom right- Essie nail polish in mink muffs.  If you haven’t noticed by now I am a huge fan of the Essie line when it comes to polish.  This brands formula tends to dry and harden really fast along with lasting for quite a bit of time.  This is just a gorgeous warm chocolate-y brown color.

Pop Culture/Media

great expectations mrbig watch-greek-online-download-greek

For starters, I’m a bit of a nerd and do like reading classic novels.  So the most recent one I have read/am reading is Great Expectations by Charles Dickens.  Its about this orphan names Pip who becomes a member of the gentry and all the things in his life that have made him the man he is.  At first it was a little weird and hard to get into but now I just always want to keep on reading.  I have to force myself to put it down and get things done.

Confession: I have had a one-hit wonder from the 90’s on replay for way too long  now.  Mr. Big’s “To Be With You” is an amazing song that I am just in love with.

This television show is no longer running but that doesn’t mean I still don’t like to go back and watch the episodes again on Netflix or Hulu.  Every fall (for the past couple of years) I have watched every season of Greek because I love the show.  I wish it was still on but at the same time I’m glad it stopped airing because after the first couple of season it sort of went downhill.

Miscellaneous

sweaterweathernaviance punjab-choley

I was at my friends house sometime this month and she lit a candle.  A couple of minutes later I asked her what that scent was because it smelled so good!  She said it was Sweater Weather from Bath and Body Works.  Not only does this candle smell amazing but hellooo the neighborhood and their song “sweater weather”.

This middle one is actually something I have been referring to constantly this past month, especially when applying for colleges.  Naviance Family Connection is something a lot of people at my school and the surrounding area when searching for schools, writing resumes, and working on their future careers.  With their supermatch college search, you can insert all the things you want out of a school and your scores and it will list a bunch of colleges that fit your criteria.  There is also a whole career planner that gives you a career interest profiler, helps create a resume, and so much more.  If you are in the process of applying or will be soon, I advise seeing if you can check this website out because it has been so helpful to me over the past couple of years/months.

And last but certainly not least is one of my favorite go-to dinners, Punjab choley.  Trader Joe’s has this whole line of Indian food that contains absolutely no artificial anything or preservatives.  All you have to do is heat it up and serve (I like to make a bit of rice to serve it on).

Leave a Reply

