Qualms With Lip Balms

This sounds a little vague, I know.  This is the background story for tomorrows post that I talked about the other day.  A couple of weeks ago I had to throw my lip balm out 😦  I don’t know about the rest of you, but I love to research products before I make a purchase.  Even something as simple as a lip balm, I love to read reviews to make sure I am getting the best quality product for the best price.  Everywhere I looked, each review said the same thing “this is the best ever, I love this so much, it works amazing”.  What are they comparing it to?  I looked around at school one day to see what kind of lip balms the girls were using.  Many girls didn’t have the same lip balms.  So what I decided to do was take matters into my own hands and write reviews for 7 different products that can easily be found in your local drugstore (all under $5).  I also am basing all of this off of the original products themselves, none of the different flavors and age-defying whatnots.

Cherry Chapstick

cherrychapstick

The first one I could think of was the original.  Chapstick, cherry of course (Katy Perry anyone?)  This one was one of my top favorites that I tried over the past couple of weeks.  It applies easily, lasts long, and makes your lips super soft (so kissable!).

Lipsmackers

lip-smacker

I got mine in strawberry.  This is so fun, its like candy for your lips.  Much like the Chapstick, this was definitely one of my favorites that I have been trying.  It also applies really well, lasts for a long time, and makes your lips smooth- not to mention it leaves you wanting to smack your lips afterwards.

Nivea

niveakissofmoisture

This is another that I liked, except not nearly as much as the first two.  It stays on for a decent amount of time.  I like how this is scentless, most products have some sort of scent but this one literally has no scent whatsoever.  It does a good job of keeping your lips smooth.  This is similar to Maybelline Babylips except it lasts a lot longer and seems to work a bit faster at smoothing your lips.

EOS

eos

I have to say this is one of the most popular lip products among the girls at my school.  They all rave about how much they love it.  However, those who know a lot about beauty and all the different products tend to think a little differently.  This lip balms works fine, I just don’t care much for it.  My first issue with this is the packaging.  The shape of it is super fun and different, however, its a little hard to carry around.  I don’t like carrying a purse much so all I grab is my wallet, phone, keys, and lip balms.  All those things fit into my pockets, except this.  Its not ideal for carrying around in your pocket or a little clutch.  My last little problem with these is that they don’t keep well.  Because they’re organic, you cant keep these puppies around for longer than a year without having them start to mold.  That’s why I had to throw my last lip balm out starting all of this.

Burt’s Bees Beeswax

Burts-Bees-Lip-Balm-478x308

I don’t like this one much either.  It has a texture that I am not used to and it really throws me off whenever I use it.  I like this lip balm only when paired with another like Nivea.  The waxy texture really does a good job at locking in moisture however it is a weird feeling texture so adding a really smooth balm on top makes everything soft.  I also love the little tingling sensation you get when you put it on from the peppermint.  So I like it but having to use two products seems like its a little unnecessary.

Maybelline Babylips

baby-lips_pack-shot-crop_Quenched

This was definitely my least favorite of the bunch.  This works well it just doesn’t last long at all.  So if you don’t mind reapplying every 6 seconds this would seem perfect.  The light lemony scent is lovely though.  I also do enjoy how you can get this balm in different tints because its a great way to add a bit of sheer color to your everyday look.

Jack Black

s564344-main-hero

This is the ultimate winner!  However, its a lot more expensive than all of the others.  Its not exactly one you can get at a drugstore (I have only been able to get this at Sephora in the guys department).  It looks like a gloss because of the tube.  The thick texture is so nice because a little bit goes a long way making the tube last forever.  I use this stuff every night before bed and wake up to baby butt soft lips.  I only wear it to bed because I am too scared I would lose it if I wore it throughout the day, and its a little too pricey to buy multiple tubes of.  I have been using it for years and I don’t plan on stopping anytime soon (total lifesaver in the winter).  I will say that I only really like the natural mint flavor, there are other fun flavors but I just like the original.

So in order of how much I ended up liking each of the balms: Jack Black, Chapstick/Lipsmackers, Nivea, Burt’s Bees, Maybelline Babylips.  Let me know of other lip balms you have used and know to be tried and true.  I would love to find out what you guys use so I can try it out myself!

Leave a Reply

