How to Find Your Signature Scent

Design from Pharos Prints Greeting Card Collections

Design from Pharos Prints Greeting Card Collections

I don’t know about the rest of you, but I have been wanting to try to find my signature scent for as long as I can remember.  Every time we went to go see my grandmother or she came to visit us, she always wore the same perfume.  It was a comforting scent that I would cherish even after she left.  To this day, whenever I smell that scent it reminds me of her even though she is no longer with us.

A couple of months ago I was flipping through an issue of Vogue and came across this perfume sample on one of the pages.  As all of the others in the magazine, I opened it up and smelled it.  Something in my brain sparked and I thought to myself that this was exactly what I wanted to smell like for the rest of my life.  Now I tend to change perfumes every year or so to mix things up since I usually get tired of a scent and want to change.  But I haven’t been able to stop thinking about that sample page since the moment I first took a whiff.  So during Christmas I opened up one of the boxes and there it was, Gucci Premiere, the scent I have been pining after since day 1.  I will try other perfumes in the future but for now I am relishing the fact that I now have an entire bottle of this coveted perfume that was to be what I smelled like for eternity.

But there are so many perfumes out there its hard to even try to start searching for your perfect scent.  Well I cant tell you what exact scent is perfect for you but I can help narrow down the search.  I read this book last year and in it, the author describes different types or categories of scents.

1- Florals- As you can tell by the name this category is mainly flowers.  There tends to be a type of sweet happiness to most all perfumes categorized as this.  An example or two are Diorissimo by Dior and L’Heure Bleue by Guerlain.

2- Chypres- This contains more of your wooded, moss, and citrus scents.  These do tend to be the very definitive scents that speak sophistication in clear cut terms.  Examples being Miss Dior by Dior and Mitsouku by Guerlain.

3- Orientals- ( This is one that I usually tend to lean toward) Is full of vanilla, sandalwood, and gum resins.  These scents are very hit-or-miss and usually outgoing.  They create a sense of warmness and take a woman who know exactly whats right for her.  Two examples are Shalimar and Vol de Nuit by Guerlain.

All categories and descriptions found in the book: Things I Wish My Mother Had Told Me by Lucia van der Post

Leave a Reply

