Sunburn Saver

3480_large

It happens to even the very best of us.  Its painful.  Its red.  It peels after a while.  Its a sunburn.  Now if youre anything like me you have naturally pale skin and burn easy.  For some reason I got the super sensitive fair skin while my brother got the gorgeous olive, easy-to-tan skin and dark hair.  Regardless, I decided it would be a wonderful idea to hang out by the pool the other day.  Wrong decision!  Let’s just say the front half of my body is now a lovely shade of red.

But I have found a remedy.  It not only stops pain but it also helps tone down the redness. . .considerably.

Earl_Grey_Tea

Start off with boiling several cups of water and steeping 5 or so bags of earl grey tea.  Let it cool slightly, soak a towel or old tshirt in it, and let it sit on the burned area for 20-30 minutes.  This helps take down a lot (practically all) of the pain and stinging from the burn.

Now its time to apply a weird concoction to your skin that makes you smell like a lavender flavored almond joy!

f-022506002005 lavender-oil

Mix a few drops of lavender essential oil to a decent sized glob of coconut oil and lather up on the burned areas.  You can also use a lavender body mist and let it dry before applying plain organic coconut oil (what I did).  I let this all sit on my skin for about an hour before washing my body in the shower because I felt so greasy and smelly.  During that hour, I also sat with coconut oil in my hair as a super charged deep conditioning treatment and washed it out in the shower as well.

After I was all clean, I applied one of my absolute favorite products from Bath & Body Works tru blue spa collection.  The after sun moisturizer!  It smells like an orange creamsicle and contains aloe vera that also helps calm down the skin.

pBBW1-13076670enh-z8

I did all of this at night before bed.  When I woke up the next morning, a majority of the redness had gone down on my arms, stomach, and parts of my legs.  Do these steps once a day for a few days and a majority of the redness should be gone with little to no peeling whatsoever.  This process was actually something I found online from multiple people who all claimed that it worked with before and after pictures as proof.  So far its working for me so whenever you find yourself lobster-esque, try it out and see if it works for you too.  In the meantime, remember to slather on the sunscreen to help prevent future burns!

Leave a Reply

