Remove Buildup

bsvv

Remember when we were in elementary school and built clay volcanos?  Now remember how we made the lave by pouring vinegar and red food coloring onto baking soda?  Well did you know that they’re also good for your hair? 

We all get nasty buildup in our hair from products and shampoo over time.  You can remove that waxy, dirty buildup with those two simple things: baking soda and vinegar.  They both have multiple other uses but I am going to share their uses for hair. 

To remove buildup from hair, make a baking soda and water paste and massage it onto the roots of dampened hair.  Leave that on for about 10 minutes then rinse it off in the shower.  Rinse your entire head of hair with 1 part (I use white) vinegar 2 parts water and rinse that out as well.  Voila!  No more buildup.

As a no poo shampoo and conditioner: There is this thing going around called “no poo” meaning no shampoo or conditioner (traditional at least).  Mix 1 TB baking soda with one cup water and put that into a container.  This serves as your shampoo so in the shower you massage it into the roots of your hair only for a little bit until it sort of starts to dissolve.  Then make a mixture of vinegar and water (same ratio as the baking soda) and use that as your conditioner.  Spray it onto your hair and leave it for a few minutes, then rinse away.  Personally, I have not done this “no poo” expirament so I cant give a personal testimony but I have read other people accounts of how fabulous it make their hair. 

And last but not least, to help with lice and dandruff.  These arent exactly the most glamorous sounding but can also be prevented using baking soda and vinegar.  To treat dandruff you do the same as you would with the buildup.  To help prevent head lice, use a vinegar rinse occasionally when showering.  Its something my grandmother told me her mother used to do for her when she was little to help keep lice away. 

On a side note, referring back to the “no poo”, I have considered trying it out.  However, my biggest concern is the oiliness phase they always talk about.  My hair tends to get greasy by the end of the day so I have a feeling that phase would be particularly horrible for me.  Maybe if I just gut it out and buy 20 bottles of dry shampoo I can get through it.  What do you guys think, should I try it or no?

Leave a Reply

