Surviving Finals: Beauty

keep-calm-finals-week-ahead

Finals week is upon us, or looming ahead in the very near future.  For those of you in college, finals week is that time of the year when you go to the library for the first time all year and end up having to sit on the floor in between rows of French literature while you study for your statistics exam since all the tables were taken.

My brother used to always say the higher the bun the less she cared.  It was a thing for every girl in my high school to show up during finals week sans makeup, in glasses, with a bun right on the top of her head.  The epitome of a girl who just rolled out of bed, drove through Starbucks, and showed up.  Don’t be that girl.  Here are a few beauty tips to get you through finals while still looking like you care.

1) Simplify Skincare: my old skincare routine used to take a good 10-20 minutes every night.  Recently, I’ve cut down to just the basic of basic. I wash my face morning and night with Philosophy Purity Made Simple (it removes makeup too) and follow with the Murad Acne Treatment.  For a bit of a glow, I use the Jergens Daily Glow Facial Moisturizer with SPF 20.  If I have a bad spot I’m dealing with, I’ll dab a bit of Mario Badescu’s Drying Lotion.  Thats it and the process takes less than 5 minutes.

2) Double Duty Makeup: Pick makeup products that double up as something else so you save time.  For example, I’ll buff a bit of Bareminerals Original Foundation all over to smooth out my complexion and then use the same product with a concealer brush to quickly cover any imperfections.  Lipstick also doubles as blush in a pinch.  It freshens up the face after all nighters. and a bit of mascara.  Total process takes less than 10 minutes.

3) Shower and plan your outfit the night before: Saves so much time in the morning!  All you have to do is get up, throw on your clothes, and you’re out the door in 2 minutes.

Thats essentially how I’ve been getting ready every morning so far during my finals week.  I can get up and out the door in 20 minutes while still looking like a functioning member of society.  One last hint (even though its unrelated to beauty) is to have your coffee maker all ready prepped for the next morning.  Just hit the button when you wake up and your coffee will brew while you get ready so all you have to do is grab it and go.

Leave a Reply

