Long Hair, No Cares

One thing I’ve learned from being in college is the importance of actually going and getting my hair done.  Not even done, just cut.  I got my hair cut right before I started school in August and again (and highlighted) over Thanksgiving.  It looked great. . . for about two months until my roots started to grow back out.  For some reason, I never went and got it fixed during the spring semester.  Once summer came around my roots were about down to my ears and the ends were ratty.  I know how important hair care is but refused to go to any of the salons near my school for fear of them screwing something up.  I wanted Lana to do my hair.  She’s one of the few people I let touch my hair.  I don’t even let friends or family go anywhere near my head.  Maybe its the idea of other people touching me and poking around at my scalp like our primitive monkey relatives I don’t like.  Maybe I’m just flat out paranoid.  Whatever the reason, I didn’t take such great care of my hair during the school year.  As soon as I got back I was sitting in Lana’s chair.  Now that my hairs back to its usual bouncy blonde goodness I intend to keep it that way.  So going along with the theme I’ve been rolling with so far this week, I present my updated hair routine.

Capture

Pictured: Teasing comb, wide tooth comb, hair pins, hair scrunchie, Garnier Fructis Sleek & Shine Shampoo, Blow Pro Mane Tame, It’s A 10 Leave-In Conditioner, Big Sexy Hair Flip It Over Hairspray

Half the time in the shower I wash my hair (sometimes I just let it go for a second day, really depends on how I’m feeling) with my Garnier Fructise Sleek & Shine shampoo- perfect for maintaining frizz during the summer heat.  On the days I don’t wash it I just kind of throw it up and maybe add in a bit of dry Shampoo (currently obsessed with Batiste -not pictured-).  Once I get out I spray on some leave-in conditioner, It’s A 10 is great as is Paul Mitchell’s, and put my hair up in a towel.  After a couple min I take it back down and smooth on a bit of an anti-frizz serum.  Blow Pro has a good one for when I want to blow-dry my hair but I also like Garnier’s Sleek & Shine anti-frizz cream.  Their Sleek & Shine line is kind of my go-to during summer.  I just kind of comb through my hair to get out tangles and either blow-dry it or let it air-dry.

As for styling, I have a weird love of teasing my hair just a little to make it look fuller and more glam on days when I feel a little blah or want to dress up.  My teasing comb is my baby and a bit of a flexible (yet strong) holding hairspray is a must for creating big hair that isn’t stiff.  I either pin it back, curl it, straighten it, or throw it up in a party pony with my scrunchie (something my roommate and I are proud to admit we did a good majority of the time this past year).

Leave a Reply

