OOTD: Summer Wedding

Over the weekend my boyfriend’s sister got married.  Finding something to wear for any event is always such a difficult thing for me, especially when I’m trying to dress to impress his entire family.  There are two main cardinal rules on what to wear to a wedding 1) never out-do the bride: it’s her day not yours and 2) don’t wear white: again repeat, she’s the one getting married here.  Also, always be sure to decode the invitation to help determine how classy or casual the event is going to be.  For the most part though, I like to be a little classy and conservative when going to a wedding.  Here’s an example similar to what I wore:

Summer Wedding

Outfit:

I wore a peach dress that I ordered from Tobi about a month ago.  It was really simple and modest with a boat neckline and long sleeves.  Despite the sleeves, the fabric and color made it just summery enough.  I paired it with some nude ballet flats (I would have worn heels but we were on grass for the ceremony) and a pretty statement necklace.  To hold my lip gloss and drivers license I just carried around a small neutral clutch.

Beauty:

My makeup routine was relatively simple.  I just wanted to be a more polished version of myself rather than have a full face of makeup.  I kept my eye makeup simple with neutral colors, a small bit of liner, and some mascara.  My beauty balm followed by a bit of powder and blush, finished with a pinky gloss.  I curled my hair into big waves and pinned one of the sides back.  When trying to make an impression, clean non-chipped nails are a must so I took off my chipping Mink Muffler and repainted with Essie’s Sand Tropez (even though a mint color would have been perfect, I couldn’t find it at the time).

Leave a Reply

