Mini Review: Nars Tinted Moisturizer, Becca Highlighter, Bobbi Brown Brow Gel, and Clinique Acne Solutions Foundation

I know I know its been a couple days, I’m putting together a huge post of my apartment and craft DIYs and its taking longer than I thought.  But there are some exciting new products I got the chance to do a review/first impression on and I cant wait to share them with you!

Mini Reviews

Nars Tinted Moisturizer (Greenland):  After the brows class on Sunday, I asked one of the consultants if she had any suggestions of a good tinted moisturizer for someone with my skin type.  I wanted to test one out since they’re so much lighter than foundation which is something I prefer during the warmer transition months in South Carolina.  She mentioned the glowing reviews the Nars brand one received.  I tried a little out the next day in the color Greenland.  I was impressed with the amount of coverage and how it didn’t break up on my skin throughout the day.  The color wasn’t a perfect match (it was a little light, color difference wasn’t that noticeable) but I feel like it would be a perfect shade for winter.  The price tag is a little steep though at $43 at Sephora.

Becca Poured Skin Perfector (Champagne Pop):  Jaclyn Hill partnered with Becca cosmetics to create this gorgeous champagne highlighter.  So obviously I had to buy it right?  I use the excuse that it was limited edition to justify my purchase.  The packaging is like the other Becca highlighters with little water droplets on the gold box to look like champagne.  Can I just say though, this color is gorgeous!  Becca has phenomenal highlighters and this one is a perfect fit.  It gives the prettiest glow and the color is good for almost every skin tone.  Highlighters sometimes have different colors that don’t work for some skin tones but I feel like this one would work for almost anyone.  Also from Sephora for $28.

Bobbi Brown Brow Gel: I didn’t think a brow gel was that necessary.  But then again, I was tired of filling in my brows and having them be gone by the time I got home from work.  On a whim I just test drove this brow gel.  My brows were on fleek and stayed that way!  I’m still going to look at a couple other brow gels in the meantime but I might be coming back to this one in the end.  I might just try out the Maybelline Clear Gel Mascara from the drugstore unless I find one that’s definitely worth the splurge. $24

Clinique Acne Solutions Foundation (#03 and #04):  At the beginning of the month I received a foundation sample from Clinique of any of their foundations.  I spoke with one of their consultants at their counter and she suggested I give the Acne Solutions one a whirl.  They color matched me with #03 and gave me a 10 day sample.  I didn’t wear foundation a whole lot for the past couple of weeks so when I ran out, I knew I wanted to pick up a full size.  It’s practically full coverage, deals well with my oily skin (as long I set it with a powder), and has a bit of salicylic acid for breakouts (although I didn’t quite notice a difference there).  My skin got a little darker since first getting color matched so I got rematched with #04.  Its a little too full coverage for everyday wear in my opinion but I do like it for days when I want a little bit extra. $27

Leave a Reply

