Sorority Rush Makeup

When you go through rush you want to be a more polished version of yourself.  That means you probably don’t want to wear thick cat eyeliner or that new gorgeous deep plum lip color you got the other day and have been dying to try.  You also may want to stray away from ultra glitter and the potential of your foundation slipping and sliding all day.  This doesn’t only apply to potential new members, but also to girls going through rush on the other side too.  You’re talking up close and personal to another person so obviously youre going to want to look your best.  I suggest keeping it bright and fresh!

Makeup for Rush

Everything on my list will have a drugstore version and a higher end version depending on whatever floats your boat.  None of these are requirements, just suggestions of what I like and/or use myself.

Primer: A good face primer is essential for keeping visible pores and oil at bay.  It helps your foundation stick for 8+ hours which you’ll so desperately need when you’re spending twice that amount of time in rounds each day.  I currently use the Smashbox Photo Finish Poreless Primer but I also like the original Photo Finish.  For a luminous drugstore alternative I adore the L’Oreal Paris Lumi Primer which has amazing hold and gives you a nice glow.

Foundation:  A smooth canvas just helps you look a little bit more polished when you’re presenting yourself.  It evens everything out a little bit as well as helping you get the finish you want.  Since I have such oily skin during the warmer months, my Bareminerals Original Foundation is my holy grail.  If you like liquid foundation, my favorite drugstore product is L’Oreal Paris Lumi Healthy Makeup because it has a glowy finish which surprisingly works with my oily skin.  For something a little bit more pricey I have heard the Dior Skin Nude foundation is a favorite although I haven’t tried it myself, my friends rave about how nice it is.  If you really don’t want to wear a lot of face products at least use some sort of powder.  My preference is Rimmel Stay Matte Powder.  I even use this to help set my foundation.  Just make sure whatever foundation  you use matches your skin and is well blended.  If its too light you’ll look washed out, if it’s too dark you’ll have awkward lines of demarcation.

Concealer:  To hide those unwanted blemishes and dark undereye circles from staying up late during voting.  Urban Decay Naked Full Coverage Weightless Concealer is a prime contender as is the Maybelline Fit Me Concealer.  Both give buildable coverage and blend seamlessly into the skin with a damp beauty blender or brush.

Cheek Color: This just helps keep you looking fresh and awake.  A nice pinky blush from Nars or Milani have amazing color payoff and color selections for any skin tone.  Just a quick swipe and you’re good to go!  I also like a little bit of a tan glow so I sweep a little bronzer on as well.  I am currently loving Lorac’s Tantilizer but I used NYC Smooth Skin Bronzer for the longest time and it was always a favorite.  Just don’t over-do it and make yourself orange or super sculpted.  Just something natural in places where the sun hits.

Eye Primer:  Keeps your eyeshadow from creasing throughout the day.  I typically just use a bit of my concealer for this but I also love the ELF Essential Eye Primer in Sheer or the Urban Decay Primer Potion.  Both keep my shadow stuck in place for hours.

Brows:  Don’t do overly dramatic sharply defined brows.  You can fill them in but like I said the goal is to just be a more polished version of yourself.  Use small light handed strokes and follow your natural shape.  Comb over with a spoolie and some brow gel to keep them in place.  The Revlon Fantasy Brow Pencil and Gel has two in once but I also love the Anastasia Brow Whiz and Gel as well.

Eye Shadow:  Light colors with a bit of definition.  You can add a bit of shimmer but don’t over-do it.  Maybelline Pro Palette in Chai Latte is perfect!  So is Too Faced Natural Palette.  Use one of the lighter shades on the lid and blend a medium/darker shade in the crease and/or outer corner.  Quick, simple, yet pretty and elegant.

Eye Liner:  I am a fan of liquid liners as apposed to pencil and gels.  Since I have oily skin both seem to just smear around and give me raccoon eyes regardless of the precision of application.  I love using the Maybelline Stiletto Liquid Liner because it lasts all day for me.  The Kat Von D autograph liquid liner also stick and the brush makes for really easy application.  You can add a slight wing if you like but you may want to steer clear of doing anything reminiscent of Amy Whinehouse’s signature liner.

Mascara:  My friends and I are all obsessed with L’Oreal Paris Voluminous Million Lashes Mascara.  It adds just the right amount of length and volume without clumping.  Same with Benefits They’re Real Mascara.  False eyelashes look a little to try-hard so just enhance your own with a couple swipes of mascara.

Lip Color:  Nothing too dramatic, a nice flushy pink for a little added pop of color.  NYX Round Case Lipstick or MAC Cosmetics Lipstick have an endless amount of shades to choose from that best suites you.  If you don’t feel like touching up in between parties, use a lip stain.  Tarte’s are absolutely stunning as are Revlon’s.  I also like a tinted lip balm as opposed to an actual lipstick because they provide a sheer wash of color.  Benefit cosmetics has an outstanding formulation and color as does Revlon on the lower end of the price spectrum.

Hope these help you put your best face forward for rush!

Leave a Reply

