Drugstore Makeup Routine

Happy day after Labor Day!  I hope all of you spent the day relaxing and with loved ones!  I had the privilege of going to the Bojangles Southern 500 on Sunday and spent my labor day recovering from that.  It was actually really cool to go since I hadn’t ever been to anything like that before.  Several of the fraternities here on campus turned it into a date function so it was exciting to go and spend the day with friends!

For today’s post I wanted something kind of fun but simple as I get back into the swing of things.  As I was doing my makeup for class this morning, I realized the perfect post! A simple, everyday drugstore makeup routine.  I change my makeup routine a bit everyday and do whatever I’m feeling for the day but today I wanted something that was simple, full coverage, but still really clean looking.

Screen Shot 2015-09-08 at 11.29.11 AM

Face:  I purchased the NYX cosmetics Stay Matte Not Flat foundation a couple of weeks ago before I left for school on a whim. I actually didn’t like it that much at first.  It wasn’t until recently I started using it and realized how great of a foundation it is.  It lasts, and I mean lasts.  On top of that, it was a beautiful finish and has amazing coverage.  I typically don’t care too much for drugstore foundations because they just never look good on my skin or last long so I was impressed with this one.  Then I conceal with a bit of Maybelline Fit Me Concealer under my eyes and on any other spots that I feel need a bit more concealing.  To finish off my face I use Rimmel’s Stay Matte (my skin gets so oily that I can use all the mattifying products I can get my hands on) and a bit of bronzer with L’Oreal Trumatch powder in the color cocoa.  I prefer bronzer on a daily basis to blush since I’m pale and have a lot of red undertones.

Eyes:  I am not about to give up my Anastasia Brow Whiz.  I use that everyday, even on days when I don’t really wear makeup.  But the rest of my eye routine is definitely drugstore. After filling in my brows, I use Maybelline Clear Mascara to stick them in place.  Then for eyeshadow I like the NYX Cosmetics Prismic Eyeshadows.  They add beautiful dimension and color to the lids with just a simple sweep of product.  The to add a bit more definition, I take the bronzing powder that I used on my face and a Sigma E40 brush and buff a bit of that in the outer corners and the crease.  The I line the outer upper lashes with some of Maybelline Stiletto Liquid Liner and finish it all off with a coat or two of Maybelline Sensational Lashes Mascara.

Lips:  Super easy, I follow up with a tinted lip balm or a fun pretty lipstick color.  Right now I have been using L’Oreal Colour Riche in Everbloom.  Its a natural rosy pink that is casual enough for everyday wear as well as for a more done up look.  The pigmentation is alright (I felt the need to apply some more after a couple hours) but the color is beautiful.

Leave a Reply

