New Makeup Trend: Baking

s870618-main-hero

I am so happy that I was able to discover and learn how to do this makeup technique.  The first time I saw it was on Pinterest with a picture of a girl who looked like she hadn’t blended in her concealer well enough.  I put off watching YouTube videos or pinning anything because I thought it looked like a waste of time and product.  One day out of pure curiosity I decided to watch a video.  The technique looked easy enough so I tried it on myself.  HUGE mistake!  I used an illuminating loose powder on accident and looked like I had plastered sparkles all day.  Finally, I spent a week learning and practicing the technique and think I have it down (for the most part).

  1. Startby doing your normal foundation routine and using a full coverage liquid or cream concealer.
  2. Blend out the concealer with a damp beauty blender or sponge and set your face with a translucent powder (just a little bit).
  3. Takethe damp sponge or beauty blender and dip it in a loose setting powder before dabbing it on the places you had put your concealer or want highlighted. (Typically triangle under eyes, line down the nose, spot on the chin, maybe a little in the middle of the forehead).
  4. Let it sit for about 5-10 minutes.
  5. Takea fluffy powder brush (maybe with a little more powder on it, up to you) and fluff off the dried translucent powder.
  6. Rest of makeup routine as normal.

The reason I’ve started to fall in love with this trend is because it makes your makeup stick like glue since it literally cooks your makeup onto your face.  This technique helps tremendously with managing it on a night when I go out or on a day when I want to look a little more polished.  It keeps my makeup looking fresh, even if I do it without using any foundation.

Let me know if there are any other cool trends I should try or ones you love!

 

Leave a Reply

