Rediscovered Appreciation for the Classics

I used to love reading growing up.  I loved going to the library with my mom and I always loved the feeling of opening a new book for the first time.  I was the girl who would wait months for the next book in a series to come out and one of the first to scramble to try to get my hands on a copy (usually borrowed from a friend who was able to get it first).  When I got to high school I wanted to read a lot of those futuristic teen novels like The Hunger Games and series similar.  I hated the books assigned in class.  My English teachers would assign long old novels for us to read and as much as I hate to admit it, I almost always used Sparknotes to know what happened instead of reading it.  By the time I got to college, I wasn’t reading as much anymore.  My English classes didn’t assign books anymore, just articles or short stories from a textbook.  Before I knew it, I hadn’t picked up a book in years.

About a year ago I was going through all of my books (whether assigned for class in high school or pleasure reading) and picking through which ones I wanted to keep with me at school or leave home.  Weirdly enough, I found myself reaching for a lot older novels instead of the ones I used to love.  With renewed interest I read one or two of the books from my English classes and fell in love with them.  I found the plots to be more interesting, the characters to be better developed and before I know it, I’ve become enchanted.  I’ve also come to like some of the more “neoclassics” as well.  Books such as The Catcher in the Rye and My Name is Asher Lev.  Needless to say, my book collection went from holding the entire Maze Runner series (which I still find to be a fun read) to holding The Complete Works of William Shakespeare.

I found these fun new cover designs of a few classics (pictured above) from Anthropologie and adore them.  They’re so fun and beautifully illustrated that they’d look marvelous on anyone’s book shelf.  Each of them goes for between $16-25 depending on the book there.

Leave a Reply

