2016 Beauty Favorites

With the end of another year quickly approaching and a lack of favorites posts for the past few months, I just combined a slightly longer list consisting of beauty products I have either loved or was introduced to this year.

screen-shot-2016-12-23-at-8-38-29-am

Starting with skincare:

There are two masks in particular that I have loved this year.  The first is one that I was obsessed with in high school but haven’t used or gotten in a long time.  The Queen Helene Mint Julep Mask is wonderful for anyone with a troublesome breakout.  It not only helps heal but also to help prevent future breakouts and is only $3 from the drugstore.  It is a little strong however so if you’re one with sensitive skin I wouldn’t use this as often, it also has a really strong minty smell.  The other mask I’ve really come to enjoy is the Glamglow Flashmud Brightening Facial.  It has a delicious citrus scent (again for those with sensitive noses, the scent may turn you off some) and brightens up the skin after only about 20 minutes.  Bright, radiant skin is something that I’ve really started to fall in love with this year as you’ll come to find out.  Another Glamglow product that is now my ride-or-die is their Supercleanse Daily Clearing Cleanser.  Its $38 from Sephora and although may have a steeper price tag, it is an absolute magnet treatment for breakouts like their mask.  I did a review on it earlier this year and although for some it may be a little drying, with my oily skin and using it once a day it has been perfect!

The moisturizer I’ve been turning to the most this year has got to be the Clinique Dramatically Different Moisturizing Gel.  The gel is perfect for my skin type and sinks right in without making my face feel slightly tacky or still dry afterwards (something moisturizers in my past had done).  Its light enough for the summer months but still moisturizing enough during the winter so I can use it year round.  To go alongside dry or dead skin is a product I have no doubt mentioned a few times before, the Peter Thomas Roth Peeling Gel Exfoliant.  It rescued my skin last summer when I was getting weird texture bumps along the bottoms of my cheeks and my jaw.  I had no idea how essential this exfoliator would be in my life after going so long with just a basic face scrub that wasn’t doing the trick.  Whenever I feel like my skin is a little dull or needs a good scrub I just pull this bad-boy out.  Another great moisturizing/brightening product that I’ve come to love is the Mario Badescu Ceramide Herbal Eye Cream.  I may seem young to use any sort of anti-aging eye cream but this stuff has done wonders for my eye area.  Its really thick so I mainly use it at night and either a super small amount or the Origins GinZing Eye Cream in the mornings.  I always get the worst under eye dark circles and this cream has made those virtually disappear.  It’s also super moisturizing to that area and doesn’t burn or sting the eyes.

To finish up skincare I’m going to talk about some sunless tanners.  You all know that I love the LovingTan 2 Hr Express Mousse but when it gets down to it, that tanner isn’t practical for regular use.  It’s my go-to for events when I have plenty of time to prep and let the color develop but for my everyday glow I prefer to use a daily sunless tanner from the drugstore.  I got the Banana Boat Summer Color Self Tanning Lotion on a whim because I was sick and tired of the L’Oreal Sublime one making me sparkly and sometimes too orange if I used too much.  I adore it!  It goes on similar to the Jergens Daily Moisturizer but the color payoff is so much better.  After one or two nights of using it I have a relatively dark and glowing tan that lasts for about a week.  Instead of going through it in a month like other sunless tanners that I constantly have to keep up with to keep the color, I can use this for about twice as long with better results.  The only downside to it being more of a lotion is that you have to let it soak in for a few minutes longer.

And now for makeup:

I don’t have too many products because I honestly haven’t spend the year as into makeup as I have skincare.  Like I mentioned earlier I have been all about radiant, glowing (and clear) skin which is caused more by skincare than makeup.  Two makeup products that I love to go alongside the glowing skin are the Becca Backlight Priming Filter and the Hourglass Ambient Light Powder in Luminous Light.  The Becca primer is one that can be worn alone or underneath makeup to give skin a luminosity that is absolutely gorgeous.  For my personally it isn’t ideal for making my makeup stick all night long but I love the way it looks regardless.  As for the Hourglass highlighter, I use that just to highlight my face for an everyday look.  It produces just the right amount of glow without looking too shimmery.

And to try to finish off this post because I know its a long one I’ll try to be brief with the others.  I was never a fan of cream products and would steer clear of them until I tried the Anastasia Beverly Hills Cream Contour kit.  It’s the only thing that actually makes my contour last despite being a cream on oily skin.  For cheek color, I was recently introduced to the Benefit Dandelion Brightening Face Powder.  It is the most perfect girly-pink and has a yummy floral scent to it without being overpowering or long lasting once applied.  For lip colors I’ve been really loving Gerard Cosmetics lipstick in the color French Toast (it’s a sort of creamy brown with a hint of red).  I bought it earlier in the year and didn’t wear it a whole lot because it wasn’t matte.  One day I put it on with a bit of lip balm already on and loved the result!  It sheered it out while still remaining super pigmented and while lasting for quite a while.  The last two products I’m going to mention are mascaras.  Typically I am totally fine with a drugstore mascara but there are two higher-end ones that have captured my heart.  The first is the Lancome Hypnose mascara and the second is the newer Benefit Roller Lash.  They both separate and lengthen my lashes beautifully without getting clumpy and they don’t transfer or smear to underneath my eyes throughout the day like some mascaras tend to do.

Okay guys!  I know that was a really long post but these were all products that I have fallen in love with this past year.  A few of them I don’t know if I could live without!  Definitely let me know if there are any products you guys have loved that I should try out!

Leave a Reply

