2017 Kickoff

2017-b

The new year of 2017 has officially started!  I’m sure you’ve all seen posts online and throughout social media of funny images, gifs, and videos about how much 2016 was a stinker.  That’s the truth for every year.  Bad things happen but so do many wonderful things!  That is something I need to try reminding myself as we head into another year so I can remember to focus on those wonderful things instead of letting myself be dragged down by the bad ones. I am so extremely excited for everything this year has in store for me and I am glad I was able to celebrate the beginning of it with some of my old close friends and my family.

I know that this is the time of year everyone goes on about resolutions. We all make them, even if we tell ourselves and others that we don’t have any, we all secretly have those things that we want to change or improve upon. It’s hard to stick to resolutions and can be very disappointing when that dream body or that dream job is “put-off” until the next year, or month, or week, or day.  Why is it that we always make resolutions and don’t keep them? I think it’s because we make excuses for ourselves (I’m guilty of that almost daily). We are our biggest hinderances, not time, not anybody else. Having the right mindset can help you achieve so many things that you may have never thought previously possible.  There have been numerous studies on the effects of approach and avoidant mindsets. It sounds silly but if you tell yourself you can’t do something, chances are you won’t be able to do it or do it well at least. We tell ourselves that we can’t do something or make up excuses as to why we are unable to do it.

Take a deep breath, tell yourself you can do it, and go conquer something that you haven’t done before or that you’ve always wanted to do. If going full-steam ahead doesn’t work for you then break it down into baby steps, set long- term and short-term goals to get whatever it is accomplished. Don’t get discouraged if it gets to be more of a challenge later on down the road. A new year isn’t about making a resolution that will create a whole new you. It’s a whole new set of 365 days worth of opportunity. Take advantage of it.

“She believed she could, so she did.” – R.S. Grey

Leave a Reply

