I Overslept

Can you tell from the title that I accidentally overslept a bit yesterday morning? For some reason I kept hitting snooze on my alarm that morning and woke up with less than thirty minutes to get ready for class. I love to walk to campus everyday for class (it keeps me from having to buy a parking pass or pay for a garage everyday, plus I never have to worry about finding a spot) but on Tuesdays and Thursdays my first class – 8:30 Accounting – is on the far side of campus meaning I leave my house at 7:30. I could go to class looking like a gremlin who just rolled out of bed and call it a day but today I wanted to try making myself as presentable as possible with the time I had.

screen-shot-2017-02-07-at-10-18-51-am

For me, it’s all about simplifying my routine as much as possible. So instead of a full everyday face of makeup, I skip a few steps with a CC cream (I recently purchased the It Cosmetics CC Cream and it is everything) which does the job of many products all rolled into one. Then I go in with concealer, if I overslept chances are I have some circles under my eyes that need to be covered. I keep the rest of the routine simple with a pop of cheek color (a nice blush makes the face look fresh and awake), naturally filled in brows and a few swipes of mascara.

Unless I showered the night before, chances are my hair is in need of a pick-me-up. Dove dry shampoo is one of my favorites but I also really love using a little sprinkle of baby powder. You can get scented baby powders at the grocery store so you don’t go around all day smelling like a newborn. Then I always finish off with brushing my teeth and moisturizing. I actually have a hard time leaving my house without throwing hand cream or Chapstick in my bag.

While I’m doing all of this I have my coffee brewing and waiting for me at the door. I love it and it helps keep me awake during that early morning class when I’m feeling extra sleepy. In all, this routine takes maybe 20-25 minutes (which includes a quick face wash and my go-to outfit of jeans and a button down) and I am able to make it out the door in time for class.

Leave a Reply

