Summer Skin Savers

Recently, I’ve been posting more and more about life and a less about cosmetics. Today I wanted to share a bit about some of my favorite skin savers. I want to protect my skin during the sunny months and maintain and glowing complexion.

Screen Shot 2017-06-20 at 6.46.09 PM

For a long time I didn’t care about sunscreen, I didn’t care if I burned and I didn’t care if I wore SPF on my face everyday.  Over the past few years I started to care after my skin (and not just caring about the breakouts but actual healthy skin overall).

I wrote a post months ago looking at new face washes and finally landed on the Origins Checks and Balances Cleanser.  It is so refreshing and cleanses my skin without stripping it (it also gets super foamy which I love). One product that is new to the routine is tea tree oil. The one I use is from Trader Joe’s and I just dilute a bit on a cotton ball with some water and massage it all over my face after washing it. It keeps my pores feeling fresh and clean.

Mario Badescu and Aveeno have been growing as two of my new favorite skincare lines (and both can be purchased at Ulta for not very much). I got the Mario Badescu Ceramide Herbal Eye Cream back in the fall and it has helped significantly with my under-eye circles. I got the Aveeno 60 Second In-Shower Facial a couple of weeks ago and so far I adore it! During the week I don’t have a lot of time to keep up with a super intense routine, with this I can put it on while in the shower, rinse off and I’m good to go. My skin looks bright and feels amazing.

I have become obsessed with making sure I have some sort of SPF on my face everyday. I look for it in my moisturizers and even foundation (despite the flashback). It is so important for keeping skin young and healthy. My absolute favorite CC cream with SPF is the It Cosmetics CC Cream. It has an SPF 50 without the weird sunscreen smell and beautiful coverage with many other benefits. I turned several of my friends onto it and it has gained a few new loyal followers as a result.

The last two products I want to mention are a normal body sunscreen and lip balm with SPF. Call me crazy but lips do burn and its painful when they do. Typically my favorite is the Blistex Raspberry Lemonade (holy moly it smells so good) but my roommate this past year introduced me to Tony Moly (their packaging is so stinking cute). Then any sunscreen with an SPF of 30 or higher is a must when spending time in the sun (Sun Bum smells yummy but I still love the classic Banana Boat smell).

Leave a Reply

